Palomäki (Widgren Family)*

This memorial is peculiar in that is erected in memory of members of a particular family who passed away during the Great Hunger Years. I have passed close by on a couple of occasions (e.g. when visiting Sonkajärvi, or when I stayed on a farm in Vieremä when my son was racing in Iisalmi and all the hotels in the town were booked) but have not visited, partly because I’m not sure of whether the stone itself is on private land. However, for the sake of completeness, and because it is already publicly accessible information, I include it here.

The Widgren family meeting in 2012 concluded with a talk about the history of the memorial (by Kalevi Vidgren), and a short moment of prayer and reflection, led by Pastor Juhani Vidgren. A photo of the memorial can be seen by scrolling down the blog entry about the 2012 meeting  at Vieremä, as well as on the 2009 blog entry.

In 2017’s Sesquicentennial Report, I gave the location as being “approx. 20 km WNW of Sonkajärvi”, and I won’t refine that until such time as I actually visit the site.

 

 

Leave a comment